The Dorothy Hodgkin Prize

The Dorothy Hodgkin Prize of the BCA was instituted in 1990 on the occasion of Dorothy’s 80th birthday, in recognition of her great contributions to science in general and to crystallography in particular. The Prize is supported by donations to the Dorothy Hodgkin Prize Fund which is a Restricted Fund of the BCA.

Nominations for this prize are welcomed from any part of the crystallographic community and the award will be made at a BCA Spring Meeting at which the awardee is expected to deliver a suitable Lecture. Awardees generally work in an area of crystallography in which Dorothy had an interest, and may have worked either with Dorothy or with one of her students.

Previous winners:
1991 Prof. Durward Cruickshank (UMIST)
1994 Dr. Gérard Bricogne
1997 Prof. Michael Woolfson (University of York)
2000 Dr. Uli Arndt (MRC)
2004 Prof. George Sheldrick (Goettingen University)
2007 Prof. Judith Howard (Durham University) “Looking Back, Leaping Forward.”
2010 Dame Louise Johnson (University of Oxford) “Forty years of structural biology: where have we come from and where might we be going?”
2015 Sir Tom Blundell (University of Cambridge) “Dorothy Hodgkin, Structural Biology and Drug Discovery”

The Bragg Lecture

The BCA is proud to have hosted many recent Bragg Lectures. Lecturers are chosen by the Bragg Lecture Fund Committee approximately every three years and the lecture is one of the highlights of the British Crystallographic Association Spring Meeting programme. The current Bragg Committee (mid-2013) is: Professor Richard Catlow FRS, Department of Chemistry and Head of the MAPS Faculty, UCL; Professor Frank James Professor of the History of Science and Head of Collections, The Royal Institution; Professor Elspeth Garman, Professor of Molecular Biophysics, University of Oxford. The Bragg Committee are happy to receive suggestions for future Bragg Lecturers via the BCA.

Previous Awards
1962 Prof. Paul. P. Ewald – Leeds and The Royal Institution, London
1965 Dame Kathleen Lonsdale – Melbourne, Adelaide, and Perth, Australia
1968 Prof. Dorothy Hodgkin – Manchester
1970 Prof. Bertram. E. Warren – The Royal Institution, London
1973 Prof. Ralph W. G. Wyckoff – Cambridge
1981 Prof. Henry. Lipson – Leeds and The Royal Institution, London “W. L. Bragg – Scientific Revolutionary”
1982 Prof. M. M. Woolfson – Manchester, Cambridge “Structural Crystallography in the 80s”
1985 Sir David Phillips – Leeds and The Royal Institution, London “The Silver Jubilee of Successful Protein Crystallography”
1987 Prof. Brian W. Matthews – Perth and Adelaide, Australia
1993 Sir Gordon Cox – Manchester, and The Royal Institution, London “Bliss was it in that Dawn to be Alive”
1993 Prof. Max Perutz – Manchester, and The Royal Institution, London “How Lawrence Bragg proved me Wrong”
1994 Prof. A. M. Glazer – Newcastle-upon-Tyne “Crystals Make Light Work”
1996 Prof. Kenneth. C. Holmes – Cambridge “Structural Biology of Macromolecules and the Development of X-Ray Diffraction”
1997 Prof. Durward. W. J. Cruickshank – Leeds and The Royal Institution, London “Gordon Cox and the Increasing Power of X-Ray Structure Analysis”
1999 Prof. Jack. D. Dunitz – Glasgow and Cambridge  “Polymorphism: the Same but Different”
2004 Prof. John Finney – “Beyond Bragg’s Law: crystallography without a lattice”
2007 Sir Roger Penrose – “Quasi-Crystals and Non-local Assembly: A Quantum-Theory foundations issue?”
2010 Sir John Meurig Thomas – “The promise and essence of 4D microscopy”
In 2013 the Bragg Committee awarded three Bragg Lectures as part of the Bragg Centenary celebrations:

    2013 John Jenkin, La Trobe University, Australia – “William and Lawrence Bragg: time for resurrection!”
    2013 Dr. Airlie McCoy, University of Cambridge, UK – “Phasing crystals with single atoms: a century of progress”
    2013 Prof. Bill David, ISIS Facility RAL and University of Oxford, UK – “100 years of X-ray crystallography – the continuing Bragg legacy”

2014 Prof. Judith Howard, Durham University – “Exploring a Century of Reciprocal Space: Same Old Theory – Endless New Results”
2017 Prof. Mike Glazer, University of Oxford -“The Wondrous World of Perovskites”

The Lonsdale Lecture

The Lonsdale Lecture is awarded by the BCA on the recommendation of the Young Crystallographers Group. The range of topics encompass all areas of crystallography and diffraction and the lectures tend to have an element of teaching.

2004 Dr. Elspeth Garman (Oxford) “Cool crystals: kill or cure?”
2006 Prof. Mike Glazer (Oxford)
2007 Prof. Bill David (ISIS/RAL) “Combinatorial Studies of Hydrogen Storage Materials – Playing the Odds.”
2009 Dr. David Watkin (Oxford) “Crystallography – Technology, Science or a Black Art?”
2011 Prof. John Helliwell (University of Manchester) “The evolution of synchrotron radiation and the growth of its importance in crystallography”
2014 Prof. Henry Chapman (Center for Free-Electron Laser Science, DESY, Hamburg) “Macromolecular Crystallography with X-ray Laser Pulse”
2015 Prof. Simon Parsons (University of Edinburgh) “High Pressure and the Molecular Crystalline State”
2016 Prof. Arwen Pearson (University of Hamburg) “Visualising molecules in motion: crystallography as a tool to probe structure and dynamics”

The BCA Prize Lecture

The BCA Prize Lecture is awarded by the BCA President at appropriate times.

2002 Prof. Bill David (ISIS/RAL)
2005 Dr. Andrew Leslie (MRC LMB Cambridge)
2008 Dr. Tony Crowther (MRC LMB Cambridge) “From Molecular Replacement to the Structure of Viruses: a Tale of Two Careers”
2012 Dr. Robin Taylor (Taylor Cheminformatics Software) “Predicting Low-Energy Conformations of Small Organic Molecules: Is Crystal-Structure Data Redundant?”
2016 Prof. Christer Aakeröy (Kansas State University) “From molecular sociology to functional materials”