1 minute read

Dear BCA members,

The nomination deadline for BCA council Elections is September 30th.

There are now two mechanisms for nomination: (1) Nominations can be made by the membership - two members are required to make the nomination. Nominations should be sent to the BCA Secretary, Claire Wilson ( [email protected] ) by the Sept 30th deadline. The willingness of the candidate to stand for election must also have been established. (2) A nominating committee has been established, comprising Paul Raithby, Elspeth Garman, Phil Lightfoot, Chris Frampton and Dave Keen. Their remit is to identify candidates for the positions open for election. BCA members are also welcome to send suggestions to members of the committee.

The positions for which there will be elections are:

  • Vice-President,
  • Secretary, and
  • Ordinary member.

Richard Cooper (Vice-President) and Claire Wilson (Secretary) have both served 2 terms in these posts and are not eligible for re-election, Anna Warren (Ordinary member) completes her first 3-year term at the AGM in 2019 and is eligible to stand again.

All nominated candidates will be required to provide a short CV and candidate statement by October 25th, for publication in the December issue of Crystallography News. Elections will then be held by electronic ballot of the BCA membership, with voting available until the end of January 2019. The outcome of the election will be announced and confirmed at the AGM during the Spring Meeting in April 2019.

A full list of BCA council members can be found here.

In the published election documentation the route by which candidates have been nominated will not be listed.

Best wishes, Claire Wilson Secretary of the British Crystallographic Association